Batman V Superman

I went to watch Batman V Superman expecting Ben Affleck to be the worst thing in the movie. (Yes I even made my peace with the atrocious title)

He’s not.

I mean, I’m not saying he’s the best Batman ( He’s not even close)

But the worst thing about this movie isn’t Affleck at all. It’s Snyder.

I get his vision. I get the intent of a darker, larger-than-life-style, comic book representation of DC. But, it’s his narrative that kinda ruined it. When I watched Man of Steel, I remember liking the movie but finding something majorly messed up. Until they announced BvS. I forgave MoS, because it was meant to be an introduction to BvS. Now BvS has to be forgiven since it’s setting up Justice League? SO many plot points seemed too hurried. So many others seemed too unnecessary. Too dragged.

Affleck managed to make the cut for me simply because of other horrid castings. I never thought I’d say this, but I’m actually disappointed in Jesse Eseinberg. I’m not kidding when I say that you could literally cast Shah Rukh Khan as Luthor and the movie would be the exact same. Luthor is written to be more brutal in this than I expected. And it’s possible that people may not realise his gore.

There’s some castings that I noticed, which had me a wee bit worried about the future of DCEU. But only time will tell.

Now that I’ve got this out of my system. Here comes the important part.

GO WATCH THE MOVIE!! LIKE NOW!!

The above is all that’s bad with the movie. It’s still a DC movie on screen with the biggest superheroes EVER! This is a different Batman than what we’re used to. Which is why Affleck is forgiven. I always liked Cavill as Superman. Sure he’s no Christopher Reeve. But he’s one of the few people who could carry on Reeve’s mantle. Amy Adams to me is too flawless in anything she does. Although for some reason I think she was underused at parts and overused at others in this movie. Gal Gadot is not bad too. Everyone else has a subtle role. Right from Jeremy Irons to Diane Lane, and they’re all pretty good. Special shout out to Fishburne. He disappointed in MoS, but he’s refreshing here.

Best thing about this movie?

Hans Zimmer. Hands down.

Don’t listen to those people who tell you this is the worst movie ever made. Or that everything is ruined for the DC cinematic universe.

I’m not telling you this is absolute awesomeness, but it is a good movie nonetheless. Just didn’t quiet absolutely blow my mind. Probably because I’ve had HIGH expectations that’s been escalating since the last two years. So if you were even a wee bit lesser hyped than I was, then you’re bound to completely enjoy this.

But Snyder, if you have plans of ruining this any further, I have just one question.

Do you bleed?

You will.

 

Update: I watched the DVD edit, the moment I could get my hands on it. I must say, it’s a rather satisfying improvement. But that doesn’t mean, this movie is anywhere in the league of something like TDK.

-Anuj Raghuram

Anuj is a musician and writer who moonlights as an engineer. Being a massive movie/TV show enthusiast, if only he could get could paid for watching anything and everything. This Hogwarts alumnus is one with the Force, and the Force is one with him.

Leave a Reply

